A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok

ef7b9-s

It was January,2009 when my friends and I made a plan to visit Darjeeling & Gangtok. We were there in Guwahati, so for us it meant taking a Train from Guwahati to Siliguri and then a Taxi to Darjeeling. The Road to Darjeeling is full of picturesque views and on the way we have Mirk, The Ghoom Monastery, Darjeeling Toy Train and much more.

1c64a-img_0064

                           Mirik,on the way to Darjeeling

Darjeeling

Darjeeling is known as the queen of the hills. Just reading and imagining the queen of the hills, hold that thought, be there to experience for yourself , why Darjeeling is called the queen of the Hills.
To the Britishers Darjeeling served as a retreat from scorching heat of Indian planes. And yes, to the whole world Darjeeling means, Darjeeling Tea and it  indeed is great.


15012009267
Ghoom  Monastery

Remember the Indian movie Main Hoon Naa.

f1ddb-img_0151

 

I Have always been fascinated by mountains and untouched beauty. I Always wanted to see the mighty Himalayas and then I got a chance to see “The Great Himalayas” when I went to Darjeeling and I saw Mt. Kanchenjunga. It was like WOW!!! , I just kept on looking at the mighty Himalayas , I had a smile on my face after a long time.
A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok

When I smiled I realized that life is full of ups and downs and emotions, and when you are down and sad things that make you happy are the things that you have always wanted to do in the past. Like in my case my smile was lost and I found it hidden in the Great Himalayas.So remember if you have lost your happiness somewhere , try finding it in the things you have always wanted to do but somehow could not.

7bf9a-img_0200

Now, See this. This ain’t the famous Toy Train but this is the track of the toy train. Because of lack of time I didn’t get a chance to enjoy a ride on the toy train.

A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok

I think I clicked this right with the descriptions I had in my mind. This is called the “Katta Pahad”. My grandfather was posted here whilst he was in the Army. I don’t remember the year but it was decades back.

A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok

If you are in Darjeeling then you should visit Sikkim. This is one of Indian states where you should visit if you wish to see what pristine natural beauty is in its true form.

b0465-img_0223

Confluence of Teesta and Ranjit River, on the way to Darjeeling to Gangtok.Above is the top view and the bottom view whilst I am standing at the confluence.
84043-img_0245

Gangtok

Gangtok is the capital of Indian state of Sikkim. Sikkim is a northen/north-east state of India.

This is M.G Road. If you wish to stay in Gangtok. This is the place for you. Good hotels, good food.
A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok
On the way to Tsomgo Lake
091e1-img_0279
A journey To the Himalayas:Darjeeling & Gangtok
Tsomgo Lake, Sikkim. On the way to Nathu La Pass, Indo China border. Could not make it to the border as the route was closed then.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on shadesoflens and commented:

    Himalayas are magnificent and majestic. Many of us just hate the crowd ( not that we hate people) but we miss the offbeat.

    That being said, some fabulous places are now big tourist destinations and “you are not just a tourist”. Well, in that case go to these tourist destinations in off-season.

    So, this is an earlier journey of mine I took in the winters of January and today I stumbled across the memoirs of my journey.

    This was Darjeeling, Gangtok and off-course I can’t forget that one plate of Maggi Noodles I ate at Tsomgo lake at over 12000 feet, that was heaven.

    Like

Leave a Reply

